Some testimonials

Our most recent Testimonials can be read on https://trustedtraders.which.co.uk/businesses/english-barrett-gray



WORTH WAITING FOR THIS WONDERFUL TEAM


We are very impressed by Emily's experienced team of women decorators. Our late Victorian house (1890's) in Hampstead needed exterior redecoration front and back of windows, doors and gutters. The job was reasonably priced and was completed on schedule. Emily and the team are considerate, punctual, efficient and fun. Our property was swept clean at the end of each day and all rubbish was removed. We asked Emily to do a few extra small on site jobs and she was very willing to do them. We booked Emily in September 2017 for our job which began in June 2018. The team are very busy and Emily kept on touch with us to say when she would begin. She coordinated with a good scaffold company with whom she regularly works. We will definitely recommend the team to others and will use them for our future decorating needs. 

Fricker, Hampstead. 27/06/2018


‘I was very impressed with the professional service from Emily in terms of providing clear and detailed quotes, and offering advice prior to the work starting. Emma did my decorating and was polite, professional, friendly and patient! Emma was also very mindful of working within a shared building. My downstairs neighbour even popped round to thank me for hiring such considerate and polite decorators! I’m really pleased with the decorating Emma completed in my flat. I would definitely recommend their services.’ Juliette Smyth, Crouch End. 20/06/16


‘My partner and I used English Barrett & Gray to paint our kitchen extension, hall, stairs, landing, main bathroom and a bedroom in our North London Victorian terrace in September 2015. We were so pleased with their work that we used them again for our loft extension bedroom and bathroom in May 2016. Every aspect of their service was excellent. They took time to consult with us closely about the detail of the finishes we wanted, were careful to protect all our floors and furniture during painting, arrived promptly and worked hard every day, were always friendly and considerate, completed the work within time and on budget and – most importantly – carried out their work with great care, producing a high quality finish. A special mention to Emma, who did all of the work on our loft, which included some tricky cracks to fill and fiddly bits of painting, and the final result is immaculate. We would not hesitate to recommend this team to anyone.’ Ben, Wood Green. 19/06/16


‘Emily, Emma and Penny have done several decorating jobs in my home, always entirely to my satisfaction. They have redecorated two bedrooms, including repair work on one ceiling, and on a window ledge. Also redecorated a large through-sitting-dining room and the hall and stairs from hall to second floor. All this work has been completed on time and to a very professional standard. Their terms are in my opinion very reasonable. Emily and her team are totally trustworthy – I always give Emily my house key. They are punctual, tidy and polite. In fact, they are a pleasure to have in my house. I look forward to them doing more work for me in the near future.’ Charlotte, Archway. 2014


‘I cannot praise this firm of decorators too highly. This team of women understand what it is like for homeowners when decorating and building works take over, sometimes for weeks. They are on time, quiet, self-sufficient, and above all – perfectionists as skilled workers. I have employed them before, and again this summer – they are friendly, consult without disturbing, and they leave the work site spotlessly clean – what more could one ask for?’ Meryl, Crouch End. 14/10/2014


‘We have just had our hall redecorated by Emily English and her team. They provided a first rate service from start (coming round to price the job) to finish two weeks after starting.They cleaned up every evening when they finished leaving us to be able to function in the house. They paid great attention to detail and kept us fully informed throughout. ‘ Yvonne – Allison Road, N4. 2012


‘I run the maintenance company for a small block of nine flats and was having great difficulty in finding decorators for our communal hallway (large entrance and four flights of stairs) at a reasonable cost. Then I was recommended Emily. What a find! Emily, Emma and Penny did a fantastic job. Their decorating was of excellent quality and they helped out with our colour issues! Also we had a problem with bikes scraping the walls in the lower stairwell and Emily sorted that out by lining the walls with Perspex. They obviously have a lot of experience and are totally trustworthy. They were punctual and really pleasant to have around. I would not hesitate in recommending them to anyone.’ Sue, Bethnal Green. 21/6/2012


‘I have used English, Barrett & Gray for a full decorating service on my 4 bedroom home and was thoroughly delighted with both the work they did, and the service they provided. Emily, Emma and Penny were very professional, highly skilled and a delight to work with. As a customer I could not give them a high enough rating for the standard of work they undertook, their efficiency and tidiness. My project was a substantial job, and the decorators had to be on-site for a considerable amount of time. It can sometimes be a challenge to have people working on your house, but this team’s approach made it a delight. I cannot recommend them highly enough; they are trustworthy, very tidy in their work and thoroughly good company.’ Rachel, South Woodford. 31/05/12


‘Emily and her team provide an excellent service; they work quietly and efficiently and are great fun to have around. They are sensitive to the needs of the household and have great ideas on colours and textures. A great find in London N4.’ Gill, N4. 17/04/2012


‘Emily English has undertaken work for us over the past 14 years and we can highly recommend her. She is reliable and her work is of the highest standard.’ Rita, West London. 17/04/2012